h1

Getting there

July 2, 2009

We are just about settled in to our new flat now and most of the (many) teething problems have been sorted out. Although I think the ancient fridge is struggling to cope with the heat so we may have to speak to the landlord about having that replaced. Ah, the joys of renting!

I have discovered that it is impossible to take a decent photo of the place so instead I focused on a few of the little things that were easier to get a picture of.

I love the weathered look of the letterbox and door fixtures. They give the place much more character and a greater sense of age and grandeur than it deserves!

letterbox small

This little chap was a favourite Christmas present from Matt. He bought it for me on a trip to London when he was really ill and felt awful but still struggled out to get me a prezzie! I’m a lucky girl.

monster small

It wouldn’t be home without books! This is just a small collection, mostly craft books. There are several boxes currently being stored at my parents’ house!

books small

I have to confess to being a bit of a hoarder. I love things. I’m not sure why this is, except that I get it from my dad, who has huge collections of books and postcards. I love hunting around charity shops and car-boot sales for anything that catches my eye. Anything that I think looks pretty is fair game, although I try very hard not to accumulate too much clutter as we just don’t have the space for it! But that is the explanation for this odd little mushroom, which I found for 50p at a charity shop and I love it! The puppy came from Manda, who writes one of my favourite blogs and  has a wonderful shop.

pup small

I have a few new crafty endeavours to share with you soon, now I need to get out and make the most of the lovely weather we’re having here.

Leave a Reply

